Pop Culture Artifact

The article written by Angyal was interesting but I have never watched Girls.  She brings up some great points but doesn’t provide any numbers to back up her claims.  I can believe the claims she makes, but just telling me something is better doesn’t really prove anything.  My golf game has got increasingly better, but I still suck.

I own a lot of albums.  I have sold a bunch of my albums to stores that buy used CDs.  The artists I hear anymore are not really my kind of thing.  Whenever I have the radio on it’s on AM.  I hear stuff here and there, but I really have a problem with a lot of the garbage that is pushed through anymore.  I still will buy a few artists’ records here and there, but I really don’t follow music like I used to.

I like the style of the article written about The Avengers, but I wasn’t really as blown away by the film as everyone else seems to be.  They shot a lot of the movie in my hometown.  Anyhow, I don’t really care for movies where I have to see like 5 other movies just to get the little ‘inside’ jokes that this movie was running.  Don’t get me wrong, I laughed at some of the comedy stuff in this movie, but I prefer my hero movies to be dark.  This movie was too colorful and geared towards a younger audience.  Maybe I should have paid to see it in 3-d instead of watching a solid bootleg copy.  Not a bad movie, but not something I would wait in line for or rush out to see again.

For my pop Culture Artifact I was leaning towards talking about Alien and Prometheus and the idea of the beginning of mankind, but since Prometheus is not out on DVD yet it looks as though I will be talking about Liam Neeson.  The guy has been a pretty serious actor for most of his career, and all of a sudden around age 60 (which he just turned this past week) he has been getting a lot of serious ‘bad ass’ roles.  The movie that set this all off was Taken.  I will be discussing Neeson’s recent ass kicking role where he beats the shit out of some wolves in The Grey.

If you didn’t get a chance to see Taken here is an example of the type of dialogue you can expect to hear:

“I don’t know who you are. I don’t know what you want. If you are looking for ransom, I can tell you I don’t have money. But what I do have are a very particular set of skills; skills I have acquired over a very long career. Skills that make me a nightmare for people like you. If you let my daughter go now, that’ll be the end of it. I will not look for you, I will not pursue you. But if you don’t, I will look for you, I will find you, and I will kill you.”

That quote is amazing.  You have a week to see the first movie before Mills begins ripping apart another city in search of his family in Taken 2.

One thought on “Pop Culture Artifact

  1. I think your Liam Neeson essay idea is interesting; it’s something I could imagine a writer like Klosterman taking on. Are there any other examples you can think of where a performer has had a late-career renaissance?

    Glad to hear you found the readings interesting. Not quite sure how the paragraph about your album collection fits in here, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

