Consider the Lobster

The writing by Wallace in “Consider the Lobster” was extremely informative.  At one point it reminded me of Forrest Gump when he starts rattling off all of the lobster dishes that are served at the festival.  “Also available are lobster rolls, lobster turnovers, lobster sauté, Down East lobster salad, lobster bisque, lobster ravioli, and deep-fried lobster dumplings.”  The information was also quite descriptive and it also gave you all kinds of background information on lobsters.

The piece also covered sensory images.  You could imagine the smell and sights of the festival by the author’s descriptions.  I think he did a really good job with that because the piece is filled with so much information that it could distract you.

I hope to be able to provide that type of information on my own topic and use the sensory elements as well as Wallace did in his piece we read.  After reading the article it has me rethinking my own topic.  I cannot provide a sense of smell for my topic because I have no firsthand experience.  It makes me think that I might have to shift gears and look elsewhere for a different topic that I have experience with.  Wallace’s piece has made me nervous like the lobsters in the tank at dirty Red Lobster.  :/

Leave a Reply

